Skip to main content

Erthrocyte, Lymphocyte, Monocyte, Megakaryocyte


  • A: Red blood cells usually stain red and are biconcave so the center often stains slightly lighter. Histologically they are named erythrocytes.

    B: Platelet
  • A: Erythrocytes

    B: Patelets


  • A: Lymphocyte

    B: Erythrocyte

    C: Neutrophil
  • A: Lymphocyte has a very dark densely stained nucleus and a visible cytoplasm.
  • - 20-50% of WBCs

    - Life span is months to years

    - General immunity


  • A: Monocytes are usually shaped like a kidney bean due to their large bi-lobular nucleus. The nucleus also stains much less dense than a lymphocyte

    - 2-10% of WBCs

    - 2-5 day lifespan in circulation and 1-3 months in tissue

    - Function as phagocytes

    B: Lymphocyte with a markedly more dense staining nucleus

    C: Basophil with obvious large purple granules obscuring the cytoplasm


  • A: Megakaryocytes are large cells that give rise to platelets or thrombocytes through a process called thromobopoiesis. The cytoplasm of this large megakaryocyte pinches off small portions of its cytoplasm to form the platelets.
  • A: Megakaryocyte is much larger than any of the other WBCs located in this bone marrow sample

    B: Immature agranulocyte

    C: Immature granulocyte
  • A: Platelets or histologically named thrombocytes are anucleate pieces of megakaryocyte cytoplasm. They form plugs, promote clot formation, and secrete factors that modulate coagulation